ON/OFF Timer switch for small DC motor

Hello!

I'm a newbie to Arduino and electronics in general and I would really appreciate your help. I have found many guides on how to make a timer with Arduino but none that came close enough to what I need.

I'm currently working on a DIY fog machine project (based on this tutorial) involving an e-cigarette and a 3V DC aquarium air pump.

So far, so good. I have successfully created the mini fog machine and I even managed to correctly wire it to a push button and a DC adaptor, such that the pump would turn on as long as I pressed the button. Now I would like to replace the button with a timer switch so that the pump is on for exactly 3 minutes once I upload the code into the Arduino.

However, I am lost as to how I should wire and code such a thing. Any advice on this?

Thanks!

vs

Since you are trying to "control a dc motor using arduino", that's what you should look for using your favourite search engine :slight_smile:

My guess is you are going to need an npn-transistor, a resistor around 10-100 Ohm and about 5 lines of code.

lg, couka

Thank you couka!
I already have a 2N2222 Transistor and a 330 Ohm resistor. Do those save me a trip from the shop?

If the pump doesn't pull too much current it could work with those components, it's worth a try. Keep an eye on the transistor, it shouldn't get too hot to touch. If it does, you have to get a higher-current transistor.

lg, couka

Hello again all!

I’ve been researching how to do the coding and wiring and I’m stuck. Here’s a fritzing diagram of what I have so far (attached). The Arduino is powered via USB, the power socket is 5V, 2.25A, the transistor is 2N2222A and the resistor is 10KOhms as I figured the amperage might be too high for the 330ohm one I had.

The code I’m using is as following:

void setup() {
  pinMode(12,OUTPUT);     //Channel A Direction Pin Initialize
}

void loop() {

analogWrite(3, 0);      //Channel A Speed 0%