OptoIsolator - Using a transistor to control a 6 pin dip relay?

The relay I’m using (LH1156AT)

Transistor (2N222A)
Resistor (1K)
Diode (IN4003)

Supply (5V)
Base (3.3V)

I set up my circuit identical to the picture attached(http://learn.adafruit.com/system/assets/assets/000/002/346/original/breadboard.jpg?1350985513), but instead of controlling a motor, I’m controlling a relay using the high/low state of a pin (8). The output voltage of the pin when High is 3.3V. The 5V source is a separate source from an ESC (~4.99V). Right now I’m trying to light a LED (5V), but want to pass the signal of a servo through the relay in the completed circuit (this is the reason I’m trying to get the relay/optoisolator circuit working).

The problem I’m having is the relay isn’t being triggered. The voltage between the +,- terminals on the collector/diode is ~2.98V

Any suggestions? Observations? I’m new to circuitry - thanks for your help.

Screen shot 2013-12-09 at 8.49.10 AM.png

How about a schematic of what you think you have wired up?

What I’m thinking you want is this, I can’t tell what you have for the pictures.
Your .pdf doesn’t open for me, and a search for LH1156AT is not turning up anything useful.

If LH1156AT is an optoisolator, then something a little different is needed.

CrossRoads:
Your .pdf doesn’t open for me, and a search for LH1156AT is not turning up anything useful.

If LH1156AT is an optoisolator, then something a little different is needed.

the LH1156AT is a relay. i’ve attached the pdf…

I cant really follow your schematic, can you please explain?

lh1156at.pdf (145 KB)

I just had a multimeter on it (collector) and ti dropped from 2.99V to 1.22V when the base voltage increased...

I also switched to a 330ohm resistor.

Okay, datasheet says “relay” but is more like an optoisolator/optocoupler.
You don’t need the transistor, the arduino can drive input LED directly.