Oscilliscope Suggestions

Apologies if this is not the right place for this question but I wasn't sure exactly where it fit.

I'm looking at investing in an oscilloscope. Currently, I'm a student, so money isn't exactly flowing like water. There's a lot of different options out there, so I thought I'd come to you all for some advice.

Any leads on 2nd-hand or economical units would be much appreciated. Also, any personal experiences on why you like certain units (or dislike others) would be very helpful.

Thanks!
Chase

What are you planning to do with the scope?

I use a Rigol DS4034, expensive, but Rigol has less expensive models you might want to look at.

A freind has picked up some Tektronix 465 analog scopes from eBay that are still in great working condition.

Look into a Saleae:

A Logic Probe maybe something to look at too. (or a led with series resistor)

Thanks for the response LarryD

I'll check into those.

Finals are over so I've got a little time to tinker again.

I'd like to use it to check the output of a linear CCD sensor. Besides that, I'd just like to use it to learn about electronics.

-Chase

Rigol looks like a quality brand and I found a few decent priced units on ebay.

The Rigol you listed is definitely out of my league haha.

As for the Saleae, I found that very interesting. I watched a few videos and it seems like if I were to get a logic analyzer I would still probably run into situations where I would need an oscilloscope?

What do you think? I don't feel like I even really know enough to fully understand what I need.

I did like simplicity of the logic analyzer and could see how it would be immediately beneficial/educational.

I think Crossroads has a link to a PC based scope. calling Crossroads, 8)

The top two Saleae units can do analog -10 to +10 volts, but only 5mhz band width though.

There are threads here where others also have asked for scope recommendations, maybe do a search.