Overheated Arduino Uno R3

Hey guys, I've been playing around with PICs for a few years now and I recently decided to try out an Arduino. After a few weeks I've already blown my first one :frowning: haha. I'm just wondering if I could get some insight into what I did wrong so I don't do it again with the new one I just ordered. Please bear with me as this may be long, but I want to give as much info as possible.

Ok, so I've got an Arduino Uno R3 and a GSM/GPS shield (from DFRobots). The shield requires an external power source of 7-12V and ~1A to run properly.

I had been running the Arduino off a 9V 1A AC wall adaptor. While testing out this shield, I would plug in the external power first, then connect it to the USB. I had read that the Arduino would automatically use the higher power supply (I think) and this seemed to work fine.

However, sometimes the GSM module would work fine for hours, and other times it would keep losing signal and disconnecting from the network. I was told to try another power supply as mine may not be supplying enough current. As I didn't have another AC adaptor, I decided to use one of the molex connectors from my PC's power supply.

I made up a cable which plugged into the +12V and 0V pins of the molex plug and then tested the connector's polarity with a multimeter. It was correct and reading 11.98V. So I plugged it into my Arduino which powered on like normal and then I plugged in the USB cable which also worked as normal.

After having it plugged in for about 10 minutes though, I realised the voltage regulator on the shield (but not on the Arduino) was getting pretty hot, so I disconnected it all.

I figured I'd try a lower voltage, so I plugged my cable into the +12V and +5V pins on the molex connector to get +7V. I checked with the multimeter again and was getting 6.89V at the correct polarity.