Powering the Uno

I am new to Arduino and have just bought my first Uno. To power it I thought I'd use a 12v 2000mA poweradaptor I have lying around. Checking the voltage with a multimeter and nothing connected to the adaptor, I found it to produce 17,8v. Is this a normal thing or is the adaptor bad? Just don't want to fry the uno. With the USB cable powering the board, what should the voltage be at the 3,3v and 5v pins? Thanks!

If its a big heavy transformer type adapter, its probably not faulty, but also not regulated, so DO NOT connect it to your Arduino.

If its a switch mode PSU then its faulty, so DO NOT connect it to your Arduino.

Buy a new 12V (1A plenty) switch mode wall-wart, or take power from the USB power to start with.

The Arduino's on-board regulator can actually handle up to 20V. 12V is actually recommended because of the additional heat generated above 12V.

Most Wall-Warts only produce the rated voltage under load.

As a very quick test, you can safely attach your wall wart to your Arduino and measure the voltage at Vin or directly on the barrel jack. If the small load of the Uno is enough to put the wall-wart into regulation, you will be fine to use it. If this test still shows >12V, do not continue using this power supply with the Arduino (unless you apply a larger continuous load in addition to the Arduino.)

Again, because the Arduino's input regulator can tolerate >12V and if there is no other load, briefly applying 17V to the input should not be damaging. You should not run the Arduino long-term with an input higher than 12V.

With the USB cable powering the board, what should the voltage be at the 3,3v and 5v pins?

The 3V3 pin will be very close to 3.3V. The 5V pins will be whatever the Vusb of your PC is at the time. The USB spec allows this to be in the range of about 4.7v-5.2v (maybe a little wider than that.)

Thanks for the swift answers.