Peltier cell controller

Hi all,
I’ll start by saying that I’m not an expert in electronics. For this reason I reproduced the circuit graphically in my figure, instead of using standard symbols, to avoid mistakes in my interpretation.
In my last project I have to control a Peltier cell in order to change temperature from a PC and using scripts from Python in the range 250-380 K.
The use of an Arduino and PID libraries to control the temperature is not problem, neither is the serial communication, I already did that several times.
My main issue here is the hardware and the fact that I have to switch the current in order to either cooling or heating the cell.

For this project I assembled a simple H-bridge circuit using:

• a 20 V/4 A rated Peltier (water cooled from on one side);
  • two IRF520
  • a DC power supply (0-30 V, 0-5 A);
  • a 4 channels opto-isolated DC Elegoo relay switch
  • a MAX31855 thermocouple

The idea is to control the temperature with one IRF520 for the cooling and the other one for the heating. These are controlled by pin ~9 and ~10 while reading the temperature. Relays (see picture) form two separated circuits (one for the cooling, one for the heating). The code allows only one of the two circuits to be closed/open.
When I work on one circuit (e.g. cooling) the Temp control is accurate, the voltage on the display remains constant to the set value (usually 12 or 15 V), and the current flows according to the PID power output.