Peltier driver: MOSFET heats up fast

Hi everyone,

I'm a software engineer with a budding interest in electronics. I also have an interest in brewing beer and I thought it would be a nice idea to combine two hobbies.
Therefore I bought the Arduino starter kit and as a first project I would like to control the temperature during the fermentation process (keep it at 20 degrees Celsius for 14 days). My plan is to use a Peltier element as a heating device.

I've implemented the PID loop, am able to write logging data to an SD card, read out the temperature sensor and control the Peltier via PWM. The problem I'm running into however is that the MOSFET I use to drive the Peltier heats up very fast (painful to touch after about 10-15 seconds).

To identify the problem I've isolated the Peltier-driving part from the project. I've adapted the circuit of project number 9 in the Arduino starter kit book but replaced the motor with my Peltier, left out the switch and replaced the 9V battery with a 12V / 3A DC adapter.
Project 09: Motorized Pinwheel

Code:

int peltierPin = 3;

void setup() {
}

void loop() {
  analogWrite(peltierPin, 60);
}

With a PWM value of 60 as in the code above the Peltier heats up slowly on one side, and cool on the other, however the MOSFET gets hot incredibly quickly. While heating is the intention, I'd prefer to only do it with the Peltier :-).

Links:
Arduino Starter Kit
MOSFET: IRF520
Peltier: TEC1-12706
Source: 12V / 3A DC adapter

I've attached a photo of my setup. Help is most welcome :slight_smile:

++Karma; // For a well presented first post.

MOSFET: IRF520
You need a logic level MOSFET, which that is not.

Try IRL520, the L denotes logic level.

Logic level MOSFETS are designed to turn on fully with 5V, hence logic level. Other MOSFETS require more than 5V, so yours is not turning on properly, is acting as a resistor and thus getting hot according to I x V.