Piezo element to Speaker

Hey all,

So this question won't involve the arduino directly. I am new to electronics and I am wondering how I can successfully connect a piezo element to a speaker (like a car speaker). My speaker is 8 ohm (I'm not sure how many watts, maybe 10?) and I am using a 27mm piezo element. I don't know if I can use this, but I have a 5v 10amp power supply from an older project: https://www.amazon.com/SNANSHI-10A-Switching-Supply-Transformer/dp/B00XYYNB78/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1468406331&sr=8-2&keywords=5v+10a+power+supply

Basically I just want the piezo to pick up contact sound vibrations and feed that signal directly to the speaker, with only potentiometer or something to control the volume. So I assume I need some kind of power source or amplifier to make this work. I am looking for very cheap because I am making around 50 of these!

Any advice is greatly appreciated while I do my own research! Thank you very much!

Typically you'll need two amplifier stages. A preamplifier to boost the "microphone" signal to audio line level (about 1V) and a power amplifier to drive the speaker.

You need to do some experiments... We don't know how much signal you're getting out of the piezo or the quality of the signal and we don't know how much amplifier power you need.

Do you have an oscilloscope? A multimeter? If the vibration is continuous you can measure the voltage from the piezo with your meter. If you've got short-duration "pluses" the meter won't respond quickly enough an you'll have to use trial-and-error unless you have an oscilloscope.

Or have you got a guitar amplifier? Piezos are high impedance and guitar inputs are high impedance, so it's pretty close to what you're looking for...