Pin 13 LED

Thanks for everyone that has responded so far. I uploaded a video jst so you can see exactly what im talking about. My biggest concern is why the sketches would only run if I select the "Serial Monitor" after uploading and why the sketch doesnt seem to retain itself in the memory. Its my first time using Arduino and im not sure if this is normal or a software/hardware problem? Appreciate the help

Here it is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lmvUiODvxnM

What you say is not consistent... May be its all the things that happened to you one after the other? What is the CURRENT state now? - You can upload sketches? - They do not start-up immediately after loading, but only after you press reset? - .. or start the Serial Monitor?

The LED blinks because when you buy an Arduino board, it has the 'Blink' sketch installed on it.

If it is still blinking after you thought you had uploaded your sketch, then your sketch has not really uploaded.

The new sketch should start right after it is uploaded to the arduino, unless there are something in your code that waits for the serial stuff.

What is it you are uploading to it?

Thanks for the response... Sorry if it wasnt clear. Here's what happens:

When I plug in the Arduino, the LED (L) constantly flashes. (once every half second, it seems)

I then try to upload the Button sketch. It states that the Upload was successful. I wait for a while and nothing happens. (LED still blinks constantly) Only when I select the Serial Monitor does the LED stop blinking and the Sketch to start working.

When I close the Serial Monitor, it seems to erase the sketch and the LED starts to blink constantly again.

Is this normal or maybe a setting or hardware issue. Im newbie to the Arduino. Thanks in advance for taking the time to help me

As I said before, this is not consistant.. A miracle???