Pin Output Question

Sorry if this a stupid question but im new to all this.

I want to use a pin to output a voltage range from 0 - 3.3v or 5v

can i code it like this:

analogWrite(13, 200);

a snippet of code will be amazing…

Thanks,

Not really. The analogWrite does PWM (pulses). That works OK with LEDs because if you drive it for 50% of the time it looks 50% as bright (roughly). But that doesn't mean it is driving the LED at 2.5V. It is driving it at 5V for 50% of the time.

So how can i accomplish to have as an output a range from 0 - 5volts ?

What do i need to buy?

Thanks

Please guys... someone??

An RC filter, consisting of just a resistor and a capacitor, will convert that PWM output to a steady voltage, which can then range from 0 to just under 5 volts (there is some loss due to the filter).

By the way, bumping after 12 minutes is generally (well, always) frowned on.

You mean a continuous range? Or exactly 0, 3.3 or 5V? And what current will be drawn?

The answer would influence the solution.

The general approach would be some sort of DAC (digital to analog converter). Just as an example: MCP4921. That is driven by SPI and has 12 bits resolution. However its maximum output current is 25 mA.

Perhaps if you described what you are trying to achieve with this?

PaulS:
An RC filter, consisting of just a resistor and a capacitor, will convert that PWM output to a steady voltage, which can then range from 0 to just under 5 volts (there is some loss due to the filter).

That sounds simpler.

arkas99:
Please guys... someone??

Give me a bit of a break. I was researching DAC chips, and typing in a reply. Oh yeah, and climbing the stairs.

I want to control a Galvo from a hard drive, it gets as input a minimum amout of voltage.
i tryed it out with a 1.5 AA battery with a potencimeter and i could control it precisly.

I want contiunous range from 0 - 3.3 or 5v or even less.

Thanks