Please help me declare my functions properly.

Hi Everyone,

This is basically a sketch of a sketch. This is my first attempt to control a servo using a ping sensor. I would like to keep things very neat. At the beginning I declared integers for the following commands: forward, backward, left, and right. This is the main problem I have. I feel if I could write sub programs for these commands using "function" i.e. void forward() I could have a nice neat setup and clearly see my full program as a bunch of smaller programs working together. If I just type:

void forward(){

"stuff here"

}

I get errors. So how do I declare my functions properly ? My idea code would be as follows:

void setup()
{

}

void loop()
{

void forward()
{

}

// etc. I hope I explained this well. Thank you for your time.

}

#include <Servo.h> 
Servo myservo;  

int pos = 90;     
int brake = 90; 

int forward =0;
int backward = 0;
int right = 0;
int left = 0;

const int pingPing = 7;

void setup() 
{ 
  myservo.attach(4);   
  Serial.begin(9600);
  pinMode(pingPing, INPUT);
} 

void loop() 
{ 

myservo.write(180);            

long duration, inches;

pinMode(pingPing, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(pingPing, LOW);
  delayMicroseconds(2);
  digitalWrite(pingPing, HIGH);
  delayMicroseconds(5);
  digitalWrite(pingPing, LOW);

pinMode(pingPing, INPUT);
  duration = pulseIn(pingPing, HIGH);

inches = microsecondsToInches(duration);

Serial.print(inches);
 Serial.println();
 delay(50);

if (inches < 30) {myservo.write(0), delay(2500), myservo.write(90), delay(1500);}

else {myservo.write(90);}

}

long microsecondsToInches(long microseconds)
{
 return microseconds / 74 / 2;
}

Hard to help without seeing the errors or the code that produced them, but it sounds like you may have declared a function called forward when you already have an int called forward. If so, the compiler certainly won't like that. Try calling the function MoveForward and see if that helps. If not, post your code.

cheekid: