Power for quadruped robot - practical aproach

Hi everyone,

it's a first time, when i decided to write on this forum, but not the first time when I visit Your forum;) and the reason why I decided to write is the problem, that i can't solve since few days, although I've ran through whole english internet.

I am building quadruped robot, every leg has 3 degrees of freedom, so it's 3 servos per leg (4.8-6V). The mechanical and software parts weren't a problem, because I have pretty big experience with mechanics and programming, but this time I have to deal also with the electronic part. And to be honest, when it comes to electronics, I'm a beginner.

Generally I have some basics, but the reality was very brutal and showed that nothing works;) I've created the circut, in which I deliver the power from 4 AA batteries (I have enelops) to the breadboard and to this breadboard all 12 servos are conected. But instead of waiting for the battery holder for 4AA (this one https://botland.com.pl/koszyki-na-bateri...pu-aa.html) I decided to check it with the battery holder for 6AA (I know, 7.2V is a "bit"too much, but I've already had one and I'm not the patient one...). So, as you probably expect, 10 of 12 servos have been damaged. But the thing that surprised me the most is, that the battery holder's cables, breadboard and the part of battery holder melted. So, since I'm not an expert in elecetronics, I have some questions:

1. Will this circut work properly, when it will be powered from 4AA batteries? Or is there some generall mistake? (I'd like not to damage next 12 servos;) )
  2. When it's not totally incorrect, maybe the plastic breadboard and thin cables can't resist the current?
  3. If yes, what could I buy as an alternative to the battery holder and the breadboard, so they could resist the current and didn't melt?

Thank You for all Your answears;)