Power Outage Detector with SMS-alarm - circuit idea

Hi everyone. I'm a somewhat newbie with circuits, did well in school though :slight_smile: Have been programming for a couple of years with different languages, so I'm comfortable with code.

Anyway, I have this idea for setting up an power outage detector. I've read a number of threads on the topic, but never seen a solution like mine.
I think the image provided will explain most of it.

Would this work or am I getting something wrong?
Very grateful for any advice :slight_smile:

Short explanation: The three power inlets from the house would naturally die at a power outage, leaving the battery to power the arduino.
The charger is a normal one from any store, keeping the batteries constantly charged.
About logic:
A very short log would be saved to the EEPROM, like if power is coming from batteries or from mains (+ time). This way I don't have to care about the board resetting by the switch, and could send appropriate SMS anyway.

Hi, welcome to the forum,

1. You will probably need a trickle charger to prevent damaging the batteries, it's on constantly.

2. Would you really need 3 main power supplies for your project to work ?

Looking at the picture you have an DC power-supply connected to the battery-charger.
You only need to check whether the input of the charger is powered, to get the info you want.

Since the voltage feeding the charger probably is higher as 5 volts you need a voltage-divider, which you can make using 2 resistors.

If the purpose of the second power supply (the lower right one in your diagram) is to indicate a power outage to the Arduino it is not necessary.

If you have a diode between the charger and the battery (to prevent the battery back-feeding to the charger) the Arduino just needs to monitor the voltage upstream of the diode.

...R

Thanks for the input guys!

Robin2