Powering 3 sensors + Bluetooth through Arduino

Hi there,

I’m new to this forum, have been building some Arduino projects and now am trying to build something bigger.

General concept:

• Arduino sender measures Temp, Humidity, PushButtonStatus and Noise Level. Sends via HC-12 Bluetooth module
  • Arduino receiver receives data and controls 4 LED strips. Receives via HC-12.

My question: For the sending Arduino, can I power all sensors via the Arduino boards 3.3 Volts (as in the diagram)? Or do I need to have a separate power supply for the sensors?

So-far all my projects have been powered directly by the Arduino board, so I am new to the concept of separately powering the project from the board.

Thank you, any help is much appreciated!

An Uno and Mega can supply 3.3volt/150mA max, depending on how you power them.
Other Arduinos might be more or less.
A long range BT module might need more than 150mA (datasheet?).

You can’t just connect a BT module to Arduino’s serial pins.
And the BT module needs a level shifter on it’s RX pin.
The HTU21 also seems to be a 3.3volt module.
And I think it needs a 5volt supply.
When you build someting like this, you start off with one item. Get that working.
Then get another item working. Then combine the two.
Iron out problems as you go.
Leo…

Thanks Leo,

You are right, I'll take it one at a time.

• You are correct that the BT module needs more than 150 mA, just checked.
    If I tried powering this through the Arduino 5V pin, I should have better luck (since I could do the HTU21 and the Bluetooth).

Or is it best practice to just stay away from powering anything via Arduino, and instead having a 3 x AA battery pack and powering the sensors and the arduino (separately) from there?

Sorry, I don't really understand (yet) how current and voltage work exactly.

Cheers,

Papu

You can get small 5volt to 3.3volt breakout boards with a 1117 regulator, to power your BT module from 5volt (ebay).