Powering a 12V Horn from an Arduino and generate siren wailing

My houses' alarmsystem was broken when I moved in. The siren outside of the house however was still working. It is able to produce some 110db noise and a red flash. My new alarmsystem (which is part of my home automation) is capable of operating a flash and switching 12V on and off in case of an alarm. However, it does not produce any siren wailing which is why I decided to use an arduino for this task.

I found an old question on this forum with sort of the same idea which is called "Siren from an AC Horn Speaker via Arduino".

However, I didn't get it to work in my context, so I did a lot of research and came up with a solution that seems to work pretty well. However, since I am not an expert, I am not sure if I am missing something.

This is the schematics:

Schematics View

And here the breadboard solution incl. some Terminal Blocks for connecting the external power source and the siren:

Breadboard View

I already asked on StackExchange if this approach makes (electronically) sense. I am crossposting my question and this project here as well as a reference for people looking for a similar solution. I couldn't react to the original post on this forum to append my thoughts on it, because the topic is already closed. Hence this new one. :slight_smile:

I am looking forward to your feedback!

Forget TIP120, much better modern alternatives are available, such as IRLZ44. This is a MOSFET and will result in a much lower voltage drop and less risk of overheating. TIP120 is an N-P-N Darlington, which is an older type of transistor with several drawbacks.

When using a MOSFET, add a 10K pull-down resistor on the Arduino pin. Keep the series resistor between the Arduino pin and the transistor.