Powering Project via USB: Any Limitations?

Hello all! First off, I'm a newbie to the Arduino, and to microcontrollers in general. However, I have a good amount of design experience and knowledge when it comes to analog circuitry and digital logic hardware. I can't wait to start exploring into the microcontroller, microprocessor and FPGA realms!

One of my first projects for a new Arduino Uno (Sparkfun Redboard clone) is building a NIR-spectrum non-contact tachometer for use in repairing things and calibrating machinery around the house. Now, at this point I don't have any stand-alone displays in stock, so I was planning on bringing my laptop around with the tachometer to read the data obtained.

Since the laptop will be there anyways, I thought, why not just power the whole thing via USB and save myself the excess bulk and hassle of using an external battery or wall-wart power source? I've tried to do some research on the limitations of the Arduino's capacity to deliver power to projects internally, and cannot find much information past the "40mA per pin, 500mA USB current draw shutoff" specifications. The entire project won't draw more than 70mA or so externally, so it seems like it should work out just fine. I'm anticipating ~45mA for the IR LED and level control circuitry, ~10mA for the phototransistor and associated filtration, and ~15mA max for the 74 series logic. Does anyone know how much power the processing and board switching circuitry uses, worst case scenario (assuming no current drawn from the pins)?

Now, the redboard apparently uses a different type of USB interface chipset, but outside of that, it looks as though the power input stages are quite similar in design, even though the redboard does away with the comparators.

Here are the links to both schematics:

Redboard- http://cdn.sparkfun.com/datasheets/Dev/Arduino/Boards/RedBoard-v21.pdf

Arduino Uno- http://arduino.cc/en/uploads/Main/Arduino_Uno_Rev3-schematic.pdf