Precision measurement

I'm a first-time Arduino programmer but I have previous programming experience using VB and a few others, so although I understand programming in general, I'm on a learning curve to get up to speed with Arduino.
I'm working on a stepper drive to move the Z axis on my fiber laser. That part is going great, but what I'd like to incorporate is an auto-focus capability. The laser is really critical for focus, .5mm out of focus can mean the difference between a good mark and no mark at all. So, my long-winded intro is to ask this: is there a reliable, repeatable, accurate, measuring system that I can use with Arduino? I have looked at infrared, laser, sound, etc., and I'm not finding anything that seems to be as accurate as I need. Any ideas? Or am I looking for something that isn't in the realm of possibilities with Arduino?

Edit: The distance I'd be measuring is between 150mm and 300mm.

It is not the Arduino that is limiting you it is the sensor.
This might be the best you can get

People who use CNC machines regularly use digital readout bars. You can get ones that can be read by a microcontroller.

...R

Hi,
For 0.5mm precision you are moving into the world of industrial laser sensors, or as Robin2 has indicated the digital bars.

https://www.sick.com/au/en/product-portfolio/distance-sensors/displacement-measurement-sensors/dt20-hi/c/g176377

Is a typical device.
If not suitable then contact your local distributor and get advice.

Tom..... :slight_smile:

How is the laser focused normally ? Are you following an irregular surface.

One method is to measure the spot size with separate optics.

Robin2:
People who use CNC machines regularly use digital readout bars. You can get ones that can be read by a microcontroller.

...R

When I put a part in the laser to mark it I need to know the height of the place that I'm marking. I use a ruler now but want to let the computer do that part.