Pressure/ Force Sensor...

Good Evening,

I am working with an uno and an analog Honeywell NSC Pressure/ Force Sensor. I am having trouble getting the pressure readings into something that are useful. The project is medical in nature; I am creating an interactive airway simulator for measuring a specific procedure competency. I have attempted a couple approaches without meaningful results. This is my first time using a pressure/ force sensor.

Project Specifics:
-Sensor Mtg P/N: NSCDANN001PGUNV Safety and Productivity Solutions | Honeywell
-Sensor is 1.8-5v, 0-1 psi, sensitivity +-25%
-No pressure/ force analogRead value is 518
-Desired output is 0-60 cmH20

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Regards,

Dom

From that data sheet it looks as if the sensor should produce zero output voltage at zero pressure, up to 20mV at 100 psi.

Are you saying that your sketch is getting an analog read result of 518 with no pressure applied? That makes me think it isn't wired up correctly. I suggest you post a wiring diagram and your code that shows the problem.

PeterH:
From that data sheet it looks as if the sensor should produce zero output voltage at zero pressure, up to 20mV at 100 psi.

The "001PG" model has a range of 0 PSI to 1 PSI.

The nominal sensitivity is listed as 6.5 mV/V so I think Full Scale at 5V would produce (nominally) 32.5 mV. The range of sensitivity is shown as 4.5 to 8.5 mV/V so that will need calibration.

There is also an output offset of -8.5 to 3.5 mV/V. That means the zero point with a 5V supply can be -42.5 mV to 17.5 mV. That will also need to be characterized.

You might want to consider a pressure gage with an SPI or I2C digital interface. They are usually characterized and calibrated at the factory.

The sensor is ratiometric, so the output and offset is proportional to the power supply (1.8-5), so at 1psi and 5V the max value is 5V * 6.5mV/V