println() double print

Dear Colleagues,

I am brand new with Arduino and therefore, started with a very simple project just to print out into the Monitor a single int value. My board is nano (version with old bootloader). The problem is println() and print() both print the value twice. The screenshot attached below.
I can’t figure it out and seek your help and advice.

Thanks.

Please post your code.

It is shown in attached file.

void setup()
{
int ObstacleDetected = 1;
Serial.begin(9600);
Serial.println(ObstacleDetected);

}

void loop()
{

}

I can’t see an attached file, and I can’t edit code in an image.

Are you saying that 1 is printed twice?

Your processor is probably getting reset.

Please remember to use code tags when posting code.

Every time the Arduino is reset it will print once. The Arduino is automatically reset when uploading new sketches. Possibly sometimes more than once...

Try...

Serial.println("Started...");
Serial.println(ObstacleDetected);

It should be obvious the code is only printing ONCE per reset.

Sorry Mate, first post. Surely, I should use code tags with code snippet.

And yes, it does print value 1 twice. I was thinking about reset but can't understand why would board reset as nothing is connected to it. Also, print happens almost momentarily, as function gets called twice.
I wonder why can't you open attached file? It opens OK at my side.

I am a bit frustrated as it is so simple issue and yet I cannot solve it unless, it is Arduino specific, such as not explicitly initialised ports or similar, perhaps?

Inserted Serial.println("Started..."); as Pcbbc suggested. It is obvious now that setup() called twice, due to reset, perhaps.

Started...
Started...

Now, why would the board reset? Do I really need to explicitly initialise all ports or something else?

You computer resets it. Either...
a) When programming
b) When connecting the serial monitor (at least in my experience)