Problem with common ground, trying to control 2 DC motors with L298N

Hi,

i'm an intermediate programmer, long-time electronics novice.

I've followed multiple tutorials on Youtube on how to hook up an L298N h-bridge with an Uno to drive 2 DC motors, but so far i can't get a single motor to work, PWM or no PWM, even though the process is straightforward and uncomplicated.

The trouble seems to be that when i attach the Uno ground to the ground of the h-bridge, the current from the bench PSU i'm using to power the h-bridge goes high very quickly as voltage is raised, so i can't raise to the the 5V needed to power the h-bridge without worrying about smoking something.

This happens whether i power the Uno from USB or wall adapter, i've tried the ground pin next to AREF and the ground pin in the POWER row since i've seen it done both ways in various videos.

This is an example of the videos i've watched, the wiring is simple and the process seems easy so i'm not sure what i'm doing wrong :

Thanks for any help.

Been reading a few posts here about the L298N, hadn't realised it was a bit of a dinosaur, would this be a good replacement :

Thanks.

I have a few of the Pololu version of those drivers and I'm very pleased with them. Be aware that their voltage range is 2.7 to 10.8V and the max RMS current for one driver is 1.5 amps. I use mine with a 1S LiPo battery (3.8v).

The Pololu website has a good range of DC motor drivers to give you some idea of what is available. Similar products are available from other suppliers.

If you need more current and voltage and don't mind doing some soldering the Infineon TLE5206 can control 5 amps and has over-current protection.

...R

Robin2:
I have a few of the Pololu version of those drivers and I'm very pleased with them. Be aware that their voltage range is 2.7 to 10.8V and the max RMS current for one driver is 1.5 amps. I use mine with a 1S LiPo battery (3.8v).