Problem with using an AtMega328P - PU Chip as standalone Chip

Hello!

I have a problem with my atmega328p - pu chips. My problem is, I bought some atmega chips (amazon link: Amazon.com: Fii X3 Atmega328P-PU Bundle with Sockets : Industrial & Scientific ) And they work perfectly as far as I can tell. They have Arduino UNO bootloaders on them so I switched out the original chip that came in my Arduino UNO and they work like a charm, I uploaded Blink with no problems, and the led does in fact blink. However, when I remove the chip and follow a pin diagram for the atmega328p - pu in order to wire it up on a breadboard, I get nothing, no led blink. I will attach a picture of my wiring (in the picture I have no power source connected, but when I do connect 5v and GND from the UNO with no chip in the socket, it makes no difference, the chip on the breadboard just starts to become warm to the touch).

This is my first time using these microcontrollers so I'm hoping its just my lack of ability and not something wrong with the hardware.

If you need any more information just let me know :slight_smile:
Thanks so much!
~Blake

(p.s. if this is the wrong section, let me know and id be happy to move the post!)

20181029_154927-01[1].jpg

You’ve missed several necessary components, the most notable being the crystal and capacitors. Several links on how to do what you’re attempting:

https://www.jameco.com/jameco/workshop/jamecobuilds/arduinocircuit.html

https://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/Standalone

Edit ps: you can run without the crystal and two 22pf capacitors but you need a different bootloader, set up for 8 MHz and you need to reprogram the chip, changing both the bootloader and the clock fuse settings in order to make it work. In order to do this, you need to install “miniCore” which directly supports the 8 MHz internal clock.

Thanks for the information! I am indeed looking to run it at 8mhz, so I will look into that. I will see how that goes :slight_smile:

Thanks again,