Problems with GPS and SD card reader

I’m pretty new to Arduino, my problem is that using the tinygps++ library I’m recollecting certain data (long lat and alt) from the GPS NEO-7M, that is the data I want to save on my micro SD, the problem is that when the micro SD card is inserted into the SD adapter values won’t show in serial port and also the values won’t save into the micro SD. As soon as I take the micro SD out of the adapter values print fine into the serial port.

Here’s my code

gps.ino (677 Bytes)

how are you interfacing SD card to arduino ?

I’m using an Arduino nano and this is the card module.

CATALEX.jpg

Image embedded for our convenience:

CATALEX.jpg

Technique described here.

How is everything connected?

Choosing the serial connection is very important on the Nano. All the choices are listed here, from BEST to WORST. SoftwareSerial is the worst choice.

You should avoid the String class, as it can cause problems on these limited-RAM devices. There's no reason to build one big String for printing. Just print the pieces.

You should open the file just once, in setup. Then you can flush the file once per second, or connect a push button that closes the file and stops the sketch. Then it is safe to remove the card.

Here is your sketch, incorporating all those suggestions:

#include <NeoSWSerial.h>
#include <NeoTee.h>
#include <NMEAGPS.h>
#include <SdFat.h>
SdFat SD;

NeoSWSerial GPSserial(2,3);
NMEAGPS gps;
gps_fix fix;

File d;

Print *prints[] = { &Serial, &d };
NeoTee tee( prints, 2 );

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  GPSserial.begin(9600);
  SD.begin(4);
  d = SD.open("datalog.txt", FILE_WRITE);
}

void loop(){
  // check for characters from the GPS device and parse them
  if (gps.available( GPSserial )) {

// Once per second, a complete fix structure is ready.
    fix = gps.read();

if (fix.valid.location)
      tee.print( fix.latitude(), 6 );
    tee.print( ',' );
    if (fix.valid.location)
      tee.print( fix.longitude(), 6 );