Programming an automated fire extinguisher.

Hello there fellow electronics enthusiasts!

I am a newbie at programming the arduino just so that is said. You will most likely understand that anyways. :sweat_smile:
Still waiting for my Arduino Nano but i am trying to program it already so that i have time to jiggle the variables later-on.

I basically want to put 2 smoke detectors (already have the I/O pin and grounds cabled out already) hooked up to two relays (2-relay-board for Arduinos)
When the smoke detectors signal the Arduinos inputs to send the relays the signal to give the waterpumps starting to spray out the super destilled water so that the misters kill the fire.

You can see the setup is in the attached PNG.
Any help would be appreciated alot! :slight_smile:

Thanks for reading and good luck to your projects!

Do you have a link for your smoke detectors?

Sure, here it is. :) http://kingdun-kd.en.made-in-china.com/product/MebnQURGqmiw/China-Smoke-Alarm-KD-108-.html

Heres is the programming i just did, what am i doing wrong if anything?

const int buttonPin = 2;     // smokedetector 1
 const int buttonPin2 = 3;    // smokedetector 2
 const int ledPin =  10;      // relay1
 const int ledPin2 =  11;     // relay2

// variables will change:
int buttonState = 0;       

void setup() {
   // initialize relay 1 pin as an output:
   pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);      
   // initialize relay 2 pin as an output:
   pinMode(ledPin2, OUTPUT);    
   // initialize the smokedetector 1 pin as an input:
   pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);     
   // initialize the smokedetector 2 pin as an input:
   pinMode(buttonPin2, INPUT);     
}

void loop(){
   // read the state of the pushbutton value:
   buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);
   buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin2);

// check if the pushbutton is pressed.
   // if it is, the buttonState is HIGH:
   if (buttonState == HIGH) {     
     // turn LED on:    
     digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);  
     digitalWrite(ledPin2, HIGH);