programming AVR ATMEGA328P with arduino IDE

hi! i am very new to Microcontrollers. i haven't had my hands on the arduino yet. so i had this question if it is possible to build a program in the arduino IDE and upload it to a ATMEGA328P with a usbasp?

actually there are a few libraries that i'd like to test and work with which have been written for arduino only.

i know the vice versa is possible . do i need the arduino bootloader to be installed on the atmega

With a USBasp you should "Burn Bootloader" first. That sets the programming fuses to enable the external 16 MHz crystal clock. Then you can either use the bootloader to upload or use Upload Using Programmer to upload a sketch over the bootloader.

johnwasser:
Then you can either use the bootloader to upload ...

USBasp connects via SPI, I'm not sure it can use the bootloader. Usually after I use the USBasp it prevents normal serial uploads, my guess being that it overwrites the bootloader.

Ps991:
USBasp connects via SPI, I'm not sure it can use the bootloader.

To use the bootloader you need a TTL (5V) Serial connection to the UART pins. You would not use the USBasp for that.

Ps991:
Usually after I use the USBasp it prevents normal serial uploads, my guess being that it overwrites the bootloader.

Yes. If you use the USBasp to upload a sketch you will have to burn a fresh bootloader if you want to upload a sketch using TTL Serial.

do i need the arduino bootloader to be installed on the atmega

Arduinos come with a bootloader. Are you asking about Arduinos or the Atmega328 chip itself?

hi! thanks for replying so quick.
so i finally resolved to buying a Atmega328P with bootloader preloaded onto it and make my own arduino on a perfboard with two 22pF capacitors and a 16mhz crystal oscillator. i would still want to program the arduino with a usbasp as i already have it. that should work right?
thanks!!

I think you have to make up your mind. Do you want to use the usbasp or the bootloader?