Programming error in my thermostat sketch

Hi,

I am a newbie, trying to make a simple temperature monitor. What I do is to measure the temperature, write it on the LCD screen, also check if the mmeasured temperature is the highest one measured since the beginning of the program, and if it is so, write it as the new maximal temperature.

Here is part of the sketch:

void loop(){

float derece; float maxderecenew; float maxdereceold; float voltaj; voltaj = analogRead (temp) * 0.004882814; derece= (voltaj-0.5)* 100.0; maxdereceold = 0; ekran.print ("Oda "); ekran.print (derece); ekran.print (" derece"); if (derece > maxdereceold) { maxderecenew=derece; } else { maxderecenew=maxdereceold; } ekran.setCursor (0,1); ekran.print ("Maximum "); ekran.print (maxderecenew); ekran.print (" C"); delay (2000); ekran.clear ();

I tried to create 2 variables, maxdereceold and maxderecenew. There is also tha variable for the actual temperature (derece). If the actual temperature is higher than the maxdereceold (the highest temperature recorded), then maxderecenew (the highest temperature recorded and written) should be changed. When I run the program both derece and maxderecenew get tje same values and change together. Where is my error?

Use code tags. Post your code. Make persistent values global or static.

THis logic is wrong

if (derece > maxdereceold)
  {
    maxderecenew=derece;
        }
        else                                    
        {
          maxderecenew=maxdereceold;
        }

If the current tempertaure is greater then the greatest recorded so far - remember this new maximum. If the current temperature is NOT greater than the last greatest ... do nothing. This "else" in your code is the root of your problems.

Note AWOLs comment: By placing the variables inside the loop() function they will have new "random" values on every loop. Place them outside.

And as it only is a fraction of your code, the above suggestion is just a suggestion