Programming New ATMEGA 16U2 Chip

I'm working on a derivative board based on Arduino Uno r3. I made a prototype, and used the same components as the Arduino Uno R3 for that part of the board.

However, now I am faced with the fact that my board isn't detected by my computer when connected by USB, since, I am assuming, the firmware on the ATMega 16U2 chip is not the Arduino firmware. Is there anyway to flash it with the firmware made available by Arduino?

I have tried the following:

ISP 6 pin header connected to a AVRISP mkII.

Using winavr, I am entering: avrdude.exe -c avrispmkII -p at90usb162 -F -U flash:w:path\to\file.hex

But I get the following error: avrdude.exe: stk500_2_ReceiveMessage(): timeout

If I look in Device Manager on Windows 7, I can see:

• AVRISP mkII under LibUSB-Win32 Devices
  • ATmega16u2 DFU under Other Devices with a yellow exclamation point telling me the driver is not installed

Any ideas?

Brian

I have no experience with this but isn't at90usb162 not sound like atmega16u2? I know the atmega328 goes as m328p, isn't the at90usb a whole different thing?

ATmega16u2 DFU under Other Devices with a yellow exclamation point telling me the driver is not installed

This indicates the ATmega16u2 is in DFU programming mode and you can use Atmel's FLIP utility to upload new firmware to the 16u2. The FLIP utility will have the necessary drivers for the ATmega16u2 DFU mode.

You can follow the steps at the following link. The steps should be the same as programming the 8u2. http://arduino.cc/en/Hacking/DFUProgramming8U2

I had the similar issue trying to use Darran's HID usb keyboard 0.3 stuff from http://www.smartinteractionlab.com/lufa-example-turning-your-arduino-into-a-keyb:

I have Arduino Uno Rev.3 I'm using the Pololu USB AVR ISP programmer. Arduino IDE 1.0 for Windows Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit