Programming Servo control for Model Railroad Turnouts

Hi,
I know this thread is now relatively old now but I am hoping that someone will pick up my question.

I am totally new to the Arduino and have got a Mega 2560 board. I have uploaded the latest sketch onto the board but I am having no success with the hard wiring.

I have a breadboard and separate power supply for the servo's. I am using on/off toggle switches. I have gone through many tutorials but I have not found one that caters for controlling a servo with a toggle switch.
I thought I was there when the servo moved but on switching off the switch, nothing happened.
Can anyone provide a Fritzing diagram or similar to explain just how I should wire up the switches.

Having said all this, am I right in assuming that the sketch supplied here will work on the Mega card and not just the Uno.

I hope you can help and please excuse my ignorance in this matter - it is a steep learning curve for me.

Regards

@bussgarfield

How exactly are you attempting to hardwire everything up? If you can describe in detail how you have tried to wire everything up perhaps we can help.

roboz6

@bussgarfield, I have suggested to the Moderator tp move your question to its own Thread and then we can start afresh. This link will find the old Thread

If you just want a servo to change position when a button is pressed you just need a variable that changeds from 'F' (off) to 'N' (on) when a button is pressed and arrange for something like this

if (buttonState == 'F') {
   myServo.write(20);
}
else {
  myServo.write(107);
}

You can do the same with a toggle switch - when it is in one position set the variable to 'N' etc.

Note that this style of doing things separates the servo action from the switch code which makes things much easier to manage.

if i have misunderstood your problem please explain further.

...R

Hi and thank you for your replies.