Project Circuit help!

Hey all! :slight_smile:

I am seeking any advice on an issue I am having with a project. I am a beginner with circuitry and electronics, so please bare with and correct my ignorance and misuse of terminology!

I am making a simple interface with 6 buttons. Each button has a 3mm white (~3.2-3.4v) led inside it. The buttons work by connecting the VCC (3.3v from arduino mega) to a wire that goes into a digital pin and a resistor (220 ohm) that goes to the arduino ground. I’ve attached a screenshot of the schematic for one button/led pair. Now I have made the same circuit but for 6 led and “buttons” and they all share the common ground.

When I tested with one, it worked fine (when the wires in the button touched, the digitalPin immediately read “1” and when released in read “0”). However, when I wired up all six, they work except when I release the wire it takes about 5-10 seconds for the digitalRead to drop back to “0”. I will add that even when the led’s are not connected to the circuit, the buttons still hang at “1” when all 6 are connected. I hope this makes sense!

Why is this? I can make guesses, but I’m sure I am far from understanding the problem. Do I need to insert a diode between the common ground and each switch? Any guidance or advice is greatly appreciated!! I feel a little lost about how to move forward.

Hi Redraw your schematic to show which of the 5V,3.3V or Vin pins of the UNO you have the push button connected to.

Also, make R2 = 10K not 220R , 220R is to low and is loading up your supply rail when you press the button.

R1 as 220R for the LED is okay.

You do have a separate resistor for each button and a separate resistor for each LED?

Can you post a picture of your project do we can see your layout?

Tom.... :)

Hey, thanks so much for the reply!

Ok I will try and get ore clear images/schematics of the full project tomorrow.