Providing USB interface for device with only SD card port

Hi,

I've been looking into this topic for a while and I've found something that seems to be exactly what I need:
https://www.maximintegrated.com/en/products/interface/MAX14502.html

I'm a software engineer not an electrical engineer so this is pretty far out of my comfort zone.
I just want to make sure before I order the evaluation kit that this would be able to accomplish what I want and to also ask for advice.

Is there a better choice?
Once I get the evaluation kit and work out how to control the chip modes, can you point me into the right direction of where to start designing my pcb. Maybe a guide or a place to get it printed in very low runs?

I intend to use an arduino to control the chip, so my current idea is to design the bridge as a hat for the arduino. Is that reasonable?

I appreciate any help, thanks -
Asher

I'm not sure if that does what you want - it looks to me like to get USB to talk to the chip, it still needs to be controlled by a processor with USB support. It looks like it allows both the USB port and the processor to directly access the SD card, while still providing USB access to the processor, which would have to support USB. Notice how the diagram shows a USB-PHY connection to the processor. It may also require an "SD interface" (an Arduino using an SD card uses it in SPI mode).

I think I see what you mean, it really is unclear to me. I've been back and forth whether it's what it seems to me or not.

For instance, quoting their news letter found here:
https://www.maximintegrated.com/en/aboutus/newsroom/newsroomall.enproducts1462.html

"Maxim's new Hi-Speed USB-to-SD card bridge delivers up to 40x the boost to SD card read/write speed in portable
applications...

Its integrated processor eliminates the need to develop a software driver...

The MAX14502 thus eliminates the time-consuming and complicated task of developing a software driver, allowing