Pull-up Resistor

Dear Forum Members,

I am very new in Arduino world and have very little understanding of electronics. I have a question regarding usage of Pull-up Resistors. I don't understand why there is LOW signal on input when button is pressed (in the schematics bellow).

https://dlnmh9ip6v2uc.cloudfront.net/assets/6/f/b/c/7/511568b6ce395f1b40000000.jpg

Thanks.

Because you're connecting to ground (0volts) when the switch is operated.

And what about VCC ?? where did that 5V go?

You've got a dead short to ground when the switch is closed. Unless R1 is zero ohms, the dead short wins.

Think of it as a voltage divider, with R2 = zero ohms.

Understood. But what will happen if there was no resistor and button was pressed. Will input read high or circuit will be short?

anandadavananda: Understood. But what will happen if there was no resistor and button was pressed. Will input read high or circuit will be short?

You destroy or shut down your power supply due to current overload. Don't do that.

thx a lot.

anandadavananda: And what about VCC ?? where did that 5V go?

It's all dropped across the pull-up resistor.

Jiggy-Ninja:

anandadavananda: Understood. But what will happen if there was no resistor and button was pressed. Will input read high or circuit will be short?

You destroy or shut down your power supply due to current overload. Don't do that.

Wrong, if there is no pull-up resistor and you wire a switch from the input to ground and press the button the input pin will read that as a valid LOW input, no damage will occur. However without the pull-up resistor there is a problem when you release the switch as then there is no valid voltage value wired to the input pin and it is said to be a 'floating input' and will read just noise and can read as either a high or low, so invalid. The only way you can damage a digital input pin is if you apply voltage greater then +5vdc or any negative voltage.

[/quote]