pulsein and pulse out

I hate to keep saying this but think I better. I am brand new to all this so please be tolerant of my ignorance.

I have found the pulsein function but do not find a pulseout, or equivalent. Does one use analogwrite() to send a controlled pulse? I am looking at using the combination to work with an ultrasonic sensors that requires a pulse be received then it returns a pulse that may be used to determine a distance. The out-pulse is moderately critical in length.

One other thing, I DO try and find this stuff on my own but I am unable to make the search function in the forums work with getting an Internal Server Error. This may be a loose nut on the keyboard issue...if so, please tell me what to do to correct it.

TNX,

Jim, K6JMG

This forum is notoriously bad at big searches. Try using Google instead with a prefix of "site:arduino.cc" on your search terms.

E.g., enter the following in search box:

site:arduino.cc pulsein pulseout

Did you read what the pulseIn function does? It is intended to wait a limited period of time for a digital pin to change state.

So, of course there is no pulseOut function. You KNOW when you want them to change.

An ultrasonic sensor sends a pulse - a specific frequency wave, and measures how long it takes that pulse to return, after being reflected by some surface.

The ultrasonic sensor is not expecting you to generate the pulse that it reads.

PaulS,

This sensor works by you sending a pulse and it times from when the US sendor sends the pulse to when the US receiver receivers it. You might take a look at the Parallax Ping device.

Tahnsk,

Jim, K6JMG

Ok, I looked at the Parallax Ping sensor.

http://www.parallax.com/tabid/768/ProductID
/92/Default.aspx