Pulsing one LED, flickering two others, off and on

Darn this subject heading character limit. >:(

I am new to Arduino, microcontrollers, and programming C in general, so please bear with me.

I am making a double-bladed lightsaber (Darth Maul style) that will use two LedEngin RGBA “10-Watt” LEDs. (I put “10-Watt” in quotes, because I don’t know what it means when there are actually four LEDs that are roughly equivalent to 3-Watt leds. 10 watts when all four are running simultaneously? I dunno.)

These LEDs need about 1000 mA, and I plan on powering the whole thing with two 4aaa (1000mA Ni-MH) battery packs. (How I am going to separate the two battery packs is another problem I need to work out; I’m thinking relay, but not sure if that would work.)

With the help of an ATMega328, I plan to use a single tactile switch to have these two LEDs cycle through four (or possibly two) modes:

• red/blue
  • blue/blue
  • red/red
  • blue/red

I actually had a working sketch for this, but accidentally overwrote it with another, so I have to rewrite it from scratch. :’(

Apart from separating power supplies, that is the easy part.

The hard part is that I want to have these two main LEDs flicker when they are on, like this:

// flickering LED
int ledPin = 11; // asign LED to pin 11
void setup() // setting things up
{
pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT); // sets pin 11 to output
}
void loop() // starting loop
{
analogWrite(ledPin, random(50)+205); // outputs a random brightness between 206 and 255 on a scale of 255
delay(random(100)); // maintains that brightness for a random interval between 1 and 100 milliseconds
}

To make things more complicated, I would also like to have a 5mm “accent LED” (or better yet, a bar-graph) doing something interesting (more interesting than simply blinking) on the hilt of the lightsaber while the main LEDs do their thing. For example, pulsing, like this:

// Project 7 - Pulsating lamp
int ledPin = 11;
float sinVal;
int ledVal;
void setup() {