Push-pull apparatus

Hello guys!
Nice to meet you here: this is my first post! :slight_smile:

I’m new with Arduino and I don’t know all kind of available mechanical stuff it can drive…

I’m looking for a simple, yet small, mechanism with just 1 DOF that pushes and/or pulls a lever.
I’d like to drive it with a simple PWM signal.
It should be a low voltage/low power motor I can plug directly to the 5V pin in Arduino.

At the begin I thought to a servo motor but I find only rotative engine.
At the moment the only think I find useful is a couple of coils with iron core I find in an electric lock…

Is there something more “comfortable” to be used for this purpose?

Thank in advance for your help!

Coil-Lock.jpg

I think you may be thinking of a Solenoid. They are spring loaded for 1 direction, and electrically controlled the other direction. They can not be powered from Arduino 5V pin, most solenoids/motors/servos need more current than the 5v regulator can supply. You would not drive it with PWM tho - it is either on, or off.

CrossRoads, thanks for your quick reply!

Mmmh, I was quite aware that the solution would need more power: ok I'll supply the needed voltage (and current). A solenoid would work (it was the first solution I found), simply I wonder if there is a device ready to use out-of-the-box. In case I have to built it by myself: do you have any suggestion?

What are you trying to push/pull to know what force is needed to move it. What stroke length must the device deliver (for far must it travel back and forward) How fast must it move. You can use a servo motor with a linkage arm to deliver linear movement.

The lock actuators from car doors are pretty good at pushing a lever. Travel is usually 25mm.

I would add to Riva's list "How often?" A car door lock actuator will overheat if it has to operate more than a dozen times per minute.