PWM help

I am new to Arduino and need some very basic help I have a project to try out. I want to read PWM pulse time from a EFI fuel injector which runs from about 2 m/sec to about 10 m/sec then send the signal back out the Arduino I want to be able to add to the pulse time with a vr pot up to about 30% I am new to all of this and have been doing a lot of reading and now going around in circles I was thought i would use Pulsein to measure the pulse time in m/sec then analog for the vr input and calculate the output i want my question is What is the best way to generate a PWM out put or is there a better way to do this

Do the incoming EFI and outgoing PWM pulses need to be synchronized ? I suspect they do.

If so, this is going to get a bit technical, and you may need to read the relevant Arduino pages to understand what I'm going on about ;-)

Anyway, assuming you need synchronisation

You are better off using an interrupt e.g pin 2 for interrupt 0, that triggers on Change (rising or falling edge), and handle the delay to lengthen the pulse using another timer eg timer2

Then just read the analogue input from the pot in the main loop and store it in a variable (you may need to mark the variable as volatile )

So that in the interrupt routine when the EFI pulse starts, you get the current nanoseconds and turn on the output pulse

When the EFI pulse ends, the interrupt will be called again, and in the interrupt handler, you get the nanosecond time and compare it to the start time, this gives you the pulse length from the EFI, you then take the value from the pot that you have previously stored (in the main loop() and calculate the addition time required before the EFI pulse output needs to end. You then start a timer with this delay time.

When the interrupt is called on the timer (i.e its complete), you end the EFI output pulse

And around you go !