Radio Controller Input -> Servo Output

Hi everyone,

I don't have an Arduino yet or any real electronics experience (I'm a programmer and mechanic). I'm building a radio controlled "robot" of sorts. I've read up on controlling servos with Arduino. I'd like to use Arduino as a sophisticated "mixer" for the servos. Since servos are controlled with PWM signals, the R/C controller must output that (so obvious, but it's the intro to the question...). The question is, can I read the PWM from the R/C receiver? I understand the Arduino has 6 analog inputs and PWM is used to "simulate" analog output, so do the analog inputs sort of electrically average the PWM signal into a voltage, then convert to a number? Would this be the approach to take?

Feel free to point me to existing resources if this is a common issue.

Thanks for your patience with the newbie!

-Daryl

I don't think you would get good results treating the PWM inputs as analog values. You could put a low pass filter on it and probably make it work, but it would probably be noisy. You would be better off processing them digitally by using pulseIn() to measure the length of the pulse and working from that. For N channels of input you could probably manage about 20/N updates per second with that scheme but it would be very accurate.

Thanks, Jim. I should have figured if the digital pins can send PWM they ought to be able to read it.

It seems pulseIn() blocks until the pulse is read. If the R/C receiver sends a pulse every (a little less) than 50 millis, we could lose a lot of time. Could one write an object wrapper like the Servo library to read and time the pulse input (refreshing as often as possible rather than every 50 millis or so)? BTW, about how many instructions per second does the Arduino execute?

Thanks.

Most instructions take 1 clock cycles, things that access memory or branch take 2 more or less, there are some that take a few more. So figure nearly 16 million instructions per second.