Question regarding internal voltage reference

Hello everyone

I’ve started a little summer project with building a quadcopter using an Arduino Uno R3 (original, eh?).
Anyway, seeing as the whole thing will be running on a lipo battery I want to monitor the battery voltage. I’ve done some research and the current plan is to make a voltage divider to bring the 12V down to around 1.1V and feeding it into an analog input. And as you may have guessed I’ll read the analog input using the internal 1.1V reference voltage (which I have already measured to be 1.082V).
Now, to the question, what happens if I apply a voltage above 1.1V to an analog input? The reason I ask is that I’ll be running an I2C device on the A4 and A5 pins, which will be running at 5V. I am new to electronics and I’m unsure whether using the internal reference of 1.1V will cause a reverse current when you apply 5V on the pins and whether or not it will be damaging.

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Don't let the voltage to the analog input exceed the analog reference.

Instead of changing the reference, why not scale the 12V down to 5V?

[quote author=Runaway Pancake link=topic=172242.msg1279712#msg1279712 date=1371330916] Don't let the voltage to the analog input exceed the analog reference. [/quote] Right, thanks.

[quote author=Runaway Pancake link=topic=172242.msg1279712#msg1279712 date=1371330916] Instead of changing the reference, why not scale the 12V down to 5V? [/quote] During my research I found an article on making precise voltage measurements using the Arduino. In the article they stress that one should use the internal reference as it is much more stable. On the other hand the 5V produced by the Arduino is an unstable reference that can vary over time or as the battery voltage drops. Here's a link to the article: http://provideyourown.com/2012/secret-arduino-voltmeter-measure-battery-voltage/