Random characters on 16x2 lcd when using a motor

Hi there, this is my first time posting on the forum so feel free to let me know if I have done something incorrectly.

I am having a problem that I get random characters showing up on my 16x2 lcd when spinning a motor using an arduino nano controlling a 2n2222 npn transistor.

It is part of a card dealing machine that involves a servo motor turning around a pack of cards and each time it moves, the motor spins for a short time to push the card off the pile. With just the servo motor and the lcd, everything is working fine, the servo is moving and the number of cards dealt is being kept track of on the lcd. But when I add in the normal motor, within a few seconds of it starting to spin, the characters on the lcd just go random and changing.

Here is the code:

#include <LiquidCrystal.h> //include libraries
#include <Servo.h>

Servo servo; //create object to control the servo

const int rs = 9, en = 11, d4 = 5, d5 = 4, d6 = 3, d7 = 2; //set up the pins for the lcd
LiquidCrystal lcd(rs, en, d4, d5, d6, d7);

const int motor_pin = 12; //motor pin
const int up_button_pin = 6; //set button input pins
const int down_button_pin = 7;
const int ok_button_pin = 8;

int numPiles = 2; //variable for the number of card piles

void setup() {
  lcd.begin(16, 2); //set up lcd

servo.attach(10); //attaches servo to pin 10

servo.write(0); //reset servo position

pinMode(motor_pin, OUTPUT); //set the motor pin as an output
  pinMode(up_button_pin, INPUT); //initialise buttons as inputs
  pinMode(down_button_pin, INPUT);
  pinMode(ok_button_pin, INPUT);

lcd.print("Card dealer"); //print a message to the lcd
  delay(2000);
  lcd.clear();
}

void loop() {
  lcd.clear();
  lcd.print("How many piles?"); //ask how many piles of cards are needed on the lcd
  lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
  lcd.print(numPiles);

while (digitalRead(ok_button_pin) == LOW) { //when the ok button is pressed start dealing, until then check for button presses