Read rotary encoder and copy it to output

Hello everyone, this is my first query to this forum, and also, it's my first project with Arduino.

I need to slow the forward and backward movement of a printer paper, my first attempt was to add a resistor to the motor, but the printer gave "fatal error" and did not work.

In my second attempt I am trying to capture the encoder motor and send the signal back to the printer via i2c bidirectional level shifter, but I go back to having a "fatal error".

Could anyone guide me to solve the error?
Thanks!

UPDATE:
The printer is an Epson Stylus Photo P50

#define Y_ENCODER_PIN_A 2
#define Y_ENCODER_PIN_B 3
#define FAKE_Y_ENCODER_PIN_A 4
#define FAKE_Y_ENCODER_PIN_B 5

void setup() {
  pinMode(Y_ENCODER_PIN_A, INPUT);
  pinMode(Y_ENCODER_PIN_B, INPUT);

digitalWrite(Y_ENCODER_PIN_A, HIGH);
  digitalWrite(Y_ENCODER_PIN_B, HIGH);

attachInterrupt(0, updateEncoderA, CHANGE); 
  attachInterrupt(1, updateEncoderB, CHANGE);

}

void loop() { 
}

void updateEncoderA() {
  int durationLpinA = pulseIn(Y_ENCODER_PIN_A, LOW);
  int durationHpinA = pulseIn(Y_ENCODER_PIN_A, HIGH);
  int pinA = ((durationLpinA)/(durationLpinA + durationHpinA));

analogWrite(FAKE_Y_ENCODER_PIN_A, pinA);
}

void updateEncoderB() {
  int durationLpinB = pulseIn(Y_ENCODER_PIN_B, LOW);
  int durationHpinB = pulseIn(Y_ENCODER_PIN_B, HIGH);
  int pinB = ((durationLpinB)/(durationLpinB + durationHpinB));

analogWrite(FAKE_Y_ENCODER_PIN_B, pinB);
}

Could anyone guide me to solve the error?

Without knowing what printer you are talking to? No.

You should NOT be using pulseIn() in an interrupt service routine. That is NOT how to determine the speed of the encoder.

Thank you very much for your reply.

I've updated the post with the printer model.

I also tried using PulseIn in loop function.

No need to calculate the speed, just knowing how many pulses moves and where it.

I've updated the post with the printer model.