Read Speed from Car Speed Sensor

Hi to everyone I am new to the Arduino forum. I am doing a project which consists of reading the speed of my car and displaying it on an LCD display. The only problem is that I don’t know how car speed sensor works and how to read them with Arduino. If someone has experience or knows this I will appreciate your help. I will include some pictures of the sensor.

Thanks!

Enzo
Ref F2136000014 - F2136000007

I use an UNO and a GPS, NEO-6M. The GPS tells the speed.

Maybe it would be an idea to use\buy a sensor that you can know how it works ?

This is purely a guess, but since your sensor appears to have three wires, I am guessing it to be a hall effect sensor, One wire (black) for ground, one (red) for power, and one for output signal (blue). In order to read the RPM correctly you will also need to know the number of signals per revolution that are being output. The output signal is probably a square wave that looks similar to the one in the picture below. If you cannot find the specifications on the speed sensor (voltage output and number of signals per revolution), you should connect the sensor to an oscilloscope to determine the output. Once you know this information you can use interrupts in the Arduino code to count the number of pulses to determine the wheel speed. What car (make,model,year) are you using?

Thank you so much for all this info is there a way I can check all this using a regular multimeter? I also think like you that the black is for ground and that the red is for +12v and the blue is for signal. I don’t have an oscilloscope that’s my main issue.

Probably available signal over Canbus too.

Check the voltage on the input (red?) wire. If it is +5v you should be good to go. If it is over 5v you will probably need to reduce it because the maximum voltage for the Arduino UNO input pins is 5v (I think).