reading out data from parallel LCD

Hi,

I'm trying to find a way to convert data from an LCD screen (I don't have access to the driver that drives the LCD) to a data format that I can use for calculations.

The LCD seems to be this one:

It will always display 3 digits on the same place in the LCD, that updates roughly 1 time per second.

Would it be possible to 'hack' into this LCD screen with an arduino to read the data that's being sent to it, and so convert the number to something that's usuable?

The datasheet lists a table for all the characters on page 2 and since the data I'm interested in can only consist of numbers, I'm expecting to read out values between 0011 0000 (0x30) and 0011 1001 (0x39)..somewhere.

I would then need to figure out how to trigger a read from these pins whenever that specific location (low and column) is being written to.

Is this doable? I am not very experienced in electronics but have played around a lot in the past.

Thanks for any insights!
Jens

I guess one of the insights would be that, it will be easier to hack into whatever is sending the data to the LCD.

It looks like a regular HD44780-style LCD with regular 8x2 header pins.

You can capture all the traffic with a Logic Analyser. e.g. Saleae Logic can decode HD44780 data.

It is hard work connecting all the logic pins to the Logic Analyser. But at least it will show you when and how the LCD receives data. With luck, it is using 4-bit interface. Which means that you don't need so many wires to LA (or your sniffer)

Seriously. Why don't you just ask the manufacturer of the product ?

David.

Thanks for the replies :slight_smile:

I’m afraid I can’t ask the manufacturer since he’s not around anymore…

I’ll check with the logic analyser! thanks!

I only have Logic-8
So I would just connect RS, RW, EN, D4, D5, D6, D7

The Logic software will tell you if it is 4-bit or 8-bit mode if you trace from startup.

David.

This has come up a few times in the past.