Reading Raw Acceleration data from SparkFun's Razor IMU

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to using microcontrollers, but I'm doing a project where I want to get the yaw, pitch, roll and acceleration data of a component using a Razor IMU. While I will be using an arduino mega eventually to read and process the data, I have for now connected the chip to the computer via a FDTI breakout board.

I've been following this tutorial (Tutorial · Razor-AHRS/razor-9dof-ahrs Wiki · GitHub) from which I've been able to get the yaw, pitch and roll readings, but I am having trouble getting the acceleration data I what, which is basically just the ax, ay and az values in m/s2.

The acceleration is read here:

// Reads x, y and z accelerometer registers
void Read_Accel()
{
  int i = 0;
  byte buff[6];

Wire.beginTransmission(ACCEL_ADDRESS); 
  WIRE_SEND(0x32);  // Send address to read from
  Wire.endTransmission();

Wire.beginTransmission(ACCEL_ADDRESS);
  Wire.requestFrom(ACCEL_ADDRESS, 6);  // Request 6 bytes
  while(Wire.available())  // ((Wire.available())&&(i<6))
  { 
    buff[i] = WIRE_RECEIVE();  // Read one byte
    i++;
  }
  Wire.endTransmission();

if (i == 6)  // All bytes received?
  {
    // No multiply by -1 for coordinate system transformation here, because of double negation:
    // We want the gravity vector, which is negated acceleration vector.
    accel[0] = (((int) buff[3]) << 8) | buff[2];  // X axis (internal sensor y axis)
    accel[1] = (((int) buff[1]) << 8) | buff[0];  // Y axis (internal sensor x axis)
    accel[2] = (((int) buff[5]) << 8) | buff[4];  // Z axis (internal sensor z axis)
  }
  else
  {
    num_accel_errors++;
    if (output_errors) Serial.println("!ERR: reading accelerometer");
  }
}

I thought I could just output the accel values in the output function as shown here:

{
    Serial.print("#YPRaxayaz=");
    Serial.print(TO_DEG(yaw)); Serial.print(",");
    Serial.print(TO_DEG(pitch)); Serial.print(",");