Reading Voltage/Current with arduino

Hello,
I am very new in electronics so I am asking to help me with this. Sorry for my poor English

I attached my solar panel multimeter scheme. I need that arduino reads Voltage and Current at the same time. I have read a lot of posts in this forum, but apparently I am too stupid to do it by myself. My arduino reads voltage correctly, but I don’t know how to measure the Current.
I made something like this: http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1205745528/0
and blew up some LED’s. So I need something else. Can someone please correct my scheme so that Arduino Analog Input 1 reads Current correctly? Can I use something else instead of LED? I just don’t want to blow up my Arduino Duemilanove.

P.S. 1omhs resistor is 5cm copper wire.

Thank you!

Untitled.png

Why have you put an LED in the circuit?

You can only measure current going through a load, you have no load on your solar cell apart from the 1R (ohm) resistor. In effect you are shorting out the cell. If you turned the LED the other way round you would light it up but would also blow it up because you have nothing to limit the current through the LED.

In place of the LED put the circuit you want to power. Then what you have will measure the current through it.

Thank you for your replay Grumpy_Mike! I want to load 12V car battery with this solar panel and I want to measure how much Current is going in to the car battery.

Then put your battery where the LED is.

With 1R sensing resistor you can monitor currents safely up to 5A, any more than that and you might damage the arduino input pins. If that is the case then follow the sensing resistor with a potential divider like you did for the voltage or add a series resistor of about 300R and put a 5.1V zenner diode across the analogue input 1.

With the solar panel being capable of 18v you will need a voltage divider just to protect the Arduino as it can only read up to 5v.

Mark