Relay

Hello!

I am quite new to relays. I bought this relay: https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/32708600505.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.6af74c4dNfQSRB

Now I read "Trigger Model: low level, voltage values between 0-1.2V". If I connect an arduino output directly to the trigger, it will give 5V. Isn't this too much for a relay like I bought? Should I use resistors?

Kind Regards and thank you for the help.

5V is probably OK but you never know when you buy cheap stuff from aliexpress, eBay, Alibaba, or 3rd-party Amazon suppliers, etc. If you buy from a reliable supplier you should get full specs/documentation.

Do I understand it well:

0-1.2V = relay off

1.2V = relay on

Thank you for your response. I understand that Aliexpress is not a reliable partner :slight_smile:

Your Aliexpress link corrected: https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/32708600505.html

OK, this module has "Low level trigger" printed underneath.

This is a well-known module and no reason to believe it to be in any way unreliable. Note the protective cutout around the common terminal. Here is the circuit for it:

The relay will actuate if you pull the input down to something like 2.5 V or less, that is LOW with an Arduino pin set to pinMode of OUTPUT. Set to HIGH (or INPUT), the relay will not actuate.

Note that if your code sets pinMode to OUTPUT before digitalWrite to HIGH in your setup() code, the relay may actuate briefly as your code boots up, you should digitalWrite HIGH first if you do not wish this to possibly happen.

Paul__B: How nice of you giving me all that information. I am really glad with it. I am very unsure, so I would like to have some additional information.

One Arduino UNO R3 will control 3 separate relays:

My concern: I think that I am dealing with 3 possible AC-devices that can cause voltage spikes. So a diode won't help, I guess...

Question 1: Are voltage spikes a possible problem with the relay I bought and the three devices I am using?
Question 2: What can I do against it?