Resistors to ground or power?

I am brand new to Arduino as well as tinkering with electronics in general and I noticed something when doing the projects in the Arduino starter kit book. The first project was just lighting a LED with a push button, but it had the resistor going to the + on the bread board, now I am putting the resistors to the ground on the next project. What are the differences as well as when would you need to do one vs the other? Thanks

You choose one or the other depending on your choice of logic. With a pullup, a momentary push switch will be "high" or "on" when not pushed and "low" or "off" when pushed. On the other hand with a pulldown resistor, the logic is reversed and the switch is then "on" when pushed. Depends on the action you want: on or off when pushed?

The Arduinos have built in pullup resistors though, so it's a lot easier to go for that logic since then you merely enable them in code:

pinMode (myPin, INPUT_PULLUP);

PS... just in case it wasn't clear to you why you should use either of these approaches in the first place: the connection through the resistor to either high (pullup) or low (pulldown) is to make sure the pin is always in a known state. If it's left unconnected, it may pick up stray radiation from the surrounds and its state may wander. So we force it one way or the other with a pullup or pulldown resistor to one state, then when we press the switch it obviously swings to the opposite state since that's the purpose of the button.

Thank you, that helped a lot. So when you choose to use pullup you will have the resistors going to the + and going to the - if you choose to use pulldown?

kfrancis1492:
Thank you, that helped a lot. So when you choose to use pullup you will have the resistors going to the + and going to the - if you choose to use pulldown?

Yep.