Reverse polarity applied to Vin

Hello

I made mistake with cable polarity while connecting 10,4V battery to Vin of my UNO :frowning:
The boards' 5V regulator fired up...
I had an LCD Keypad shield and a Big Easy Driver connected to the board. Could they also be damaged, or the UNO's board is somehow protecting them?

Kindly,
Artur

You tell us. I wouldn't count on anything being OK, but it is possible.

Don't worry, we've all done that, several times each! Chalk it up to experience.

I will :slight_smile:
I'm placing an order now, just not sure whether I should buy only board, or the whole setup :confused:

You can always test the components individually, but even if they seem to work, the test is not conclusive. They may eventually fail spectacularly.

Ok. Thanks for reply

I've just order the UNO and will test this out ::slight_smile:

Anyway... If I burned up everything, then I'll give up with my project for some time (it's my first time with arduino and electronics) :confused:
I spent HOURS prototyping, testing and troubleshooting. Another hours packing, wiring and soldering everything in a tiny box :roll_eyes: Everything was ready and working flawlessly 8) Then the final part - a cable with DC jack which I thought I knew polarity - boom $#@&! :sob:

I have done this enough times that I ALWAYS keep a multimeter handy, just to be absolutely sure that both the voltage and the voltage polarity are what they should be, before plugging in the power connector.

Down the road you will also forget that 3.3V modules usually fry when plugged into 5V power supplies or connected to 5V output pins.

Sh*t happens. :frowning:

The DC socket is polarity protected with a 1Amp diode between DC socket and V-in.
10.4volt on V-in is borderline for the onboard 5volt regulator when it has to power an LCD shield and other things (getting too hot). The DC socket drops 0.7volt, so is a better choice.
Leo..

Thanks for reply.

@Wawa, good information, thanks :slight_smile: