Review of my "Optocoupler as Relay Board" circuit

I have made an "module" (on breadboard) with Optocoupler and Logic Level Mosfet (Type of mosfet and Optocoupler can be seen in the schematic) where my goel is to light up an 12V bulb (for testing) with Wemos D1 Mini.

It works perfectly, but i'm new to this and i need som tips and trick regards to my wiring. What can i do better etc.

I am most unsure about the 12V line that goes to the optocoupler. I do not have any resistor there now and i'm not sure if i need one. I have meassured the current to the optocoupler to 11mA.

Here is my schematic.

Your opto coupler output puts a short on the 12V supply, it does not switch the MOSFET.

PerryBebbington:
Your opto coupler output puts a short on the 12V supply, it does not switch the MOSFET.

Can you explain?
I have wrote the schematic after the circuit i made that works. Off course i can have done something wrong here, but i can not see where in schematic.

In the left hand part the opto-transistor is directly across the 12V to ground, so shorting it out.
In the right hand part is is the same with the addition of a connection to the gate of the MOSFET. There is a wire from pin 1 of the connector 12V INN (I think you mean IN, an INN is a place to get a beer and food) to ground, which shorts out the gate to ground.

If your circuit works then what you have built cannot be what you have shown in the schematic.

I drawed the schematic after my circuit that works fine, so it must be my drawing is not right here. I will check when i come home from work later to day.

Thanks btw :slight_smile:

I think maybe i saw my error now.

Is this schematic better?

Your opto still shorts 12V to ground when closed.

opto short.PNG

opto short.PNG

No, you now don't have a connection to the MOSFET gate.

But do you see the net labels? One label on the mosfet gate and one label from optocoupler with same name (= connected) ?

Bjerknez:
But do you see the net labels?

I do now :wink: