Robot Arm with Stepper Motor

Hi all:

I'm new to arduino but currently brainstorming about building a robot arm controlled completely by the arduino mega 2560. After some research, I found that stepper motors are used in many pick and place robots and other precision movement machines. Since the task my robot needs to perform is pre-determined (the position of all objects need to be picked and placed are known), I thought I should use steppers since the degree of rotation can be controlled by a motor driver and an arduino.

So I found this Quadstepper board from SparkFun that can control up to 4 stepper motors, which is nice since most motor shield can only drive up to 2 and I need to have at least 3 steppers.

Could you guys please tell me if this board is desirable for this project? And if it is, what kind of stepper motor should I get? The arm is built with VEX metal pieces and it's kinda heavy since I have to apply an idle voltage to the VEX motors (before I decide to go stepper) to keep the arm from falling. So, according to my description of the arm, what kind of stepper should I get so that it would have enough torque to turn the arm? Would it affect the precision of the stepper if the arm is that heavy?

This is what I have in mind so far, please give your precious suggestions and answers! Thank you in advance!

James

You need to select the appropriate stepper motor for your application before you select your driver. To select the stepper the primary consideration is how much torque the stepper can put out. To understand torque ratings, a stepper that can produce 100 oz-in of torque will be able to pull 100 ounces of weight at a distance of 1 inch from the center of rotation. To calculate your requirements with the arm you've already built you would use a small hanging scale and see how much force it takes to move the arm -- and don't forget to account for the weight the motors will be adding to the arm.