Rotary encoder menu system

Hello!

I'm a real beginner at code, although I'm pretty confident at the hardware side.

I'm working on a menu for an audio processor that is driven by rotary encoder with a push button. However, I can't make the rotary encoder and push button behave as expected. What I wish to achieve is behaviour like this:

Main menu page - The rotary encoder adjusts volume and prints the decibel (dB) value on the serial terminal. It also prints audio input and tone value settings. I did this with a void updateDisplay so don't need to repeat it.

If the button is pressed, the menu progresses to the next page. I did this with a switch case function.

Menu 2 - Selects audio input. If the button is pressed but the audio input selection has not changed it progresses to the next menu page.

If the button is pressed and the audio input selection has been changed by the rotary encoder, it sets that input to current and returns to the main page.

Menu 3 - If the button is pressed but the tone control value has not changed it goes back to the main page as this is the last menu.

If the button is pressed and the tone control value has been changed by the rotary encoder, it sets that tone value and returns to the main page.

I will use those set values for volume, audio input and tone value to write the relevant memory addresses to the audio processor over I2C, but that code is currently in a separate project.

The behaviour I am getting is that I see the serial print repeated 3 times when the rotary encoder is moved one step. Additionally the button logic to either progress to the next menu if nothing has been changed, or set the new setting to current if something has been changed, doesn't seem to work and I can't see the logic in what it is doing.

Appreciate some help!

// Rotary encoder variables
const byte inputCLK = 3; // Arduino pin the rotary encoder CLK pin is connected to.