School "Mars Rover" Project

Hi, I'm new to arduinos and I have to make a "Mars Rover" using an arduino that can navigate around and retrieve materials (ping pong balls). I will need 4 motors and 1 servo. I was provided with an arduino uno and a motor shield. I'm really confused what kind of motors and servo I need to buy and the vehicle also has to be wireless, so I need to provide power as well. Right now, I was thinking of using a "8 AA battery holder" for the power, so about 12V and 4000mAh. Is that enough to run 4 motors and a servo? Also, for the motors (DC, correct?), how much voltage should they be? And for the servos, is this alright: http://www.amazon.ca/MG995-Micro-Servo-Degree-Digital/dp/B00ESC510A/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1450647127&sr=8-4&keywords=servo+motor (I just need it for steering) I would really appreciate if anyone can help, I am really stuck

They gave you an an Uno and a motor shield, and you have to buy/build everything else? That is a quite challenging project for a beginner!

a "8 AA battery holder" for the power, so about 12V and 4000mAh

Actually, AA batteries have capacity in the range of 1200 - 2500 mAh and no, that won't be enough power for 4 motors and a servo.

RC battery packs are what most people use, and I've been happy with ones from Tenergy, for example these packs.

[u]Always[/u] power the motors and the Arduino separately, but connect all the grounds together. Never try to power either a motor or a servo by the Arduino.

You might look on youtube to get some ideas. Often continuous rotation servos are used for the wheel drives on simple bots.

http://www.foxytronics.com/learn/robots/how-to-make-your-first-arduino-robot/introduction

Hi guys, thanks for helping, and I also feel that this project isn't quite suited for a grade 10.

jremington: Actually, AA batteries have capacity in the range of 1200 - 2500 mAh and no, that won't be enough power for 4 motors and a servo.