Sending Music from iPhone to Arduino

Hi everyone!

I am still pretty new at using Arduino, but I have been trying to look into a way to send music to my Arduino from my iPhone. Ideally, I wanted to get it to send the data through the Lightning-USB cable--similarly to how my car (USB) receives music from my iPhone (Lightning).

I've been looking at a lot of articles, forum threads, etc. and what I've been looking into is using a

USB Host Shield:
www.amazon.com/arduino-org-A000004-Arduino-Host-Shield/dp/B00LUJYN5S/

or maybe a
USB 2 Serial Light:

I also saw this connector Redpark TTL Serial Cable for iOS but it didn't seem to have good reviews, and I am not sure if using one of those cable pin converters would make that work.

I notice that others have connected their iPhones to the arduino board, but I wasn't able to find more info on straight up music transfer.

I found some information on how to set up music streaming:

This was, atleast from what I know, the closest thing I could find to what I want to do:

however, I don't know have an old iPod dock, and this isn't using Lightning.

I read a lot of other threads as well, but I really wasn't able to figure out the way to do this. As mentioned earlier, I am pretty new at this, so maybe I missed/didn't understand something? Would someone be able to give me some guidance on how I can accomplish this?

I currently have an Arduino Micro but will probably be getting an Arduino Mega sometime soon.

Thank you so much,
Lien

What would the Arduino do with the music?

Note that playing audio through an Arduino produces very poor quality sound.

I don't think you can get an iPod to send audio digitally through the USB. If you can then you need a host shield, but I think your project is a no go.

jremington:
What would the Arduino do with the music?